Rain – Part 1

Since hearing Barrel Of A Gun by Depeche Mode for the first time, I knew i needed to write a song like that, since I truly believe Depeche Mode to be a rock band rather than a synth band – and to me the song reminded me a lot of Black Sabbath. I think my first effort to realize this idea saw the light of day back in 1996 in the band Blueplastic – then by the title “Obedience” – playing around with lyric ideas of the stupid statement that “ignorance is bliss”. There is also a saying that a happy partner in life is a silent partner, so therefore happiness must lie in both obedience and ignorance. Yeah I know I have a twisted mind.

To hear it suck:

Anyway, some songs need to be laid on ice for a few years and in 2011 I did a total remake of both guitar riff and lyrics. This version, that is up for rehearsal with the new line-up any day now, has lyrics that concerns matters of religion, the evil of mankind, as well as the ever present topic of love and betrayal.

Enjoy a small excerpt with programmed drums and bass with Mike handling the guitars: 

To be continued…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

